The 2019/2020 Nigeria Professional Football League season is almost upon us and with the brouhaha of the previous season over, the league has returned to its twenty teams format.
Some of the familiar names are making a return to the top flight after years of wandering in the lower division, unlike recent past though no privately owned team got promoted.
After Weeks of Nigeria National League actions, eighth group winners were paired against each other and only four of them could move into the new NPFL season. Warri Wolves were able to overcome Dynamite FC on penalties in Enugu while Jigawa Golden Stars beat NAF FC 3-2 in a five goal thriller. Akwa Starlets and Adamawa United got the better of 3SC and Road safety.
Presenting the 2019 NPFL newly promoted teams:
Warri Wolves

Nickname: Wolves
Last Appearance: 2016
Coach: Kester Ojo-Osagie
Stadium: Warri City Stadium
Akwa Starlet

Last Appearance: Debut
Coach: Aniedi Dickson
Stadium: Godswill Akpabio Stadium 
Jigawa Golden Stars

Last Appearance: 2012
Stadium: Hadejia Stadium
Adamawa United

Last Appearance: 2001
Coach: Justin Madugu
Stadium: Ribadu Square Stadium, Yola
The 20 teams that will play in the NPFL are now complete and the season-ending Super Four to determine the winner of the Nigeria National league will take place from July 31 to August 3, at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba.