Thursday, December 26, 2019

Eight West Africa countries to launch new currency


Eight West African countries have agreed to cut some of their financial links with France in a move which will see the end of a common currency known as the CFA franc. Under the deal a new currency is to be launched called the Eco which is still to be linked to the Euro. The decision was announced during the French president, Emmanuel Macron’s visit to the region. Ndongo Samba Sylla is a Senegalese development economist and gave us this analysis

No comments:

Post a Comment